Monthly Archives:February 2016

Open Call – 8 PhD positions

Feb 19, 2016 Posted by:   webmaster No Comments

2016_02_AdmoreThe Initial Training Network AdMoRe (Advanced Model Reduction for real-time, inverse and industrial problems) has announced an open call with 8 PhD positions available.

AdMoRe is a Marie Sklodowska-Curie Innovative Training Network in Computational Models and Numerical Methods, funded under the 2020 Horizon Program (H2020) of the European Comission.

See more details here.


2016 UKACM Conference

Feb 1, 2016 Posted by:   webmaster No Comments

2016_02_ConferenceCheck out the forthcoming 2016 Conference on Computational Mechanics (31 March – 1 April 2016, Cardiff)

The Conference will focus on recent developments in the field of Computational Mechanics through a combination of keynote lectures, paper and poster sessions. Researchers from areas closely related to Computational Mechanics such as Scientific Computing and Applied Mathematics are encouraged to participate in this conference.

Prof Charles Augarde – New UKACM President

Feb 1, 2016 Posted by:   webmaster No Comments

2016_02_News_PresidentCharles Augarde is a Professor of Civil Engineering in the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences and also Head of the Mechanics Research Group in the School.

After graduating in Engineering from Lancaster University he spent six years in industry, working for Manchester City Engineer’s Dept on road, bridge and sewer design and construction, achieving Chartered Engineer (CEng) status in 1992. He then studied for an MSc in Structural Engineering at Heriot-Watt University (1993) and a DPhil (=PhD) at Oxford University (1997), where he was also a College Lecturer at Keble College. After his DPhil and a brief period as a lecturer at the University of Westminster he returned to Oxford as a Departmental Lecturer in Engineering Science (1997-2001) and a College Lecturer at St Anne’s College. Charles joined Durham in 2001 as a Lecturer, was promoted to Senior Lecturer in 2007, Reader in 2011 and Professor in 2013.